Dr. Sharon


Longtime educator and school leader committed to delivering for students, teachers, administrators, and families of District 2.

Early Voting

September 30th – October 7th

Election Day 

October 14th, 2023

The essence of a good education is the belief by leaders that every child regardless of circumstances must have a quality education that will transform their present circumstances and expand their future opportunities.

Meet Dr. Sharon Latten-Clark

An Experienced Leader & Educator

  • A career in public education spanning over a quarter of a century.
  • Dr. Sharon Latten-Clark began as a para-educator and English teacher in the Houston Independent school district before returning to teach English at Fredrick Douglass High School.
  • Served as an Assistant Principal in Phoenix, Arizona, before returning home to lead Sophie B Wright Public School. Clark led Sophie B. Wright prior to Hurricane Katrina and transformed it into a high-performing, open-enrollment school.
  • A Xavier Prep High School graduate, Clark earned a bachelor’s and a master’s degree from Xavier University and a Doctorate from the University of New Orleans in Educational Leadership.

About The BESE Board

Dr. Sharon Latten-Clark is running for BESE District 2 which includes Orleans parish, the West Bank of Jefferson Parish, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist, St. James, and Assumption parishes.

The 1974 Louisiana Constitution established BESE. The Board comprises 11 members: eight elected by the citizens of Louisiana’s eight BESE districts and three appointed by the governor of Louisiana to represent the citizens of Louisiana. The members work together to adopt and enact policies governing Louisiana’s elementary and secondary schools.

BESE’s mission is to create policies for education that expand opportunities for children, empower families and communities, and advance Louisiana in an increasingly competitive global market. 


BESE elections will take place on Saturday, October 14th
Early voting is September 30th through Oct 7th (excluding Sunday, October 1) from 8:30am-6:00pm


Designed and managed by Capture Connect Media.